Tag: The Evermore Book Tag

Hello! Today I’m bringing you the evermore book tag; it seemed fitting after doing the folklore book tag, and even though I’m not the biggest Taylor Swift, I highly enjoyed her folklore and evermore albums, they’re certainly between the best ones I’ve ever listened to. So without further ado, let’s get to the tag!


RULES
  • Link to the original creator: Paige @ YA Books Daily
  • Tag at least 3 people.
  • Declare the rules and prompts in your post.
  • Thank whoever tagged you and link to their post!
  • The graphics are free to use if you’d like, but please note YA Books Daily as the owner!

Howl’s Moving Castle, by Diana Wynne Jones 

Howl’s Moving Castle was the first book that came to mind when I read the “magical element” part; this is one of the most magical books I’ve read, in a very chaotic and lovely way. It’s such a sweet book, I love middle-grade fantasy and Diana Wynne Jones is certainly a great author of the genre. I think I should also mention that the theme song for the movie inspired by this book was playing at the exact same time I read this question and choose the answer, what a sweet coincidence. 

Escaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3), by Kerri Maniscalco 

What’s more filled with glitz and glamour than a luxurious cruise filled with mystery and a circus troupe of magicians, trapezists, and swordsmen? Though that’s my least favorite book of the series for many reasons, it’s the one that came to my mind when thinking of champagne problems, it really fits the prompt and the vibe of the song as a whole. 

The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles, #2), by Rick Riordan 

That was a difficult one because I was sure I had not read a book that really featured unrequited love; in a way, I haven’t, but Throne of Fire is the one that comes closest to that, considering Carter and Zia’s storyline here, for reasons I can’t say because of *spoilers*. I know it’s a book that has been released many years ago and that it’s probably okay if I say the reason because of that, but I rather not say it, since there may be people who haven’t read it yet. 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, #1), By Jenny Han

I haven’t read any holiday-themed books (this surprised me a lot, honestly, because I quite enjoy holidays), so I cheated a little and choose To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before since it has a Halloween and also a Christmas chapters, and especially the Halloween one is very nice, I love Peter and Lara Jean. 

The Shadow of Kyoshi (The Rise of Kyoshi, #2), by F.C. Yee

This one wasn’t hard at all, The Shadow of Kyoshi is always the first book to appear in my mind anytime someone mentions a sequel that disappoints. I loved the first Kyoshi book, but I could barely finish reading this second one, it was such a MESS, it made no sense at all, it seemed to me that they just wanted an excuse to show the Fire Nation the way it was before Avatar: The Last Airbender, but there wasn’t anything interesting to tell or even a good reason for the book to be set there.   

Stalking Jack the Ripper, by Kerri Maniscalco 

I don’t read many mystery or detective novels, the Stalking Jack the Ripper series is the only mystery books I remember reading, and even though I know they’re not objectively good and the mystery is quite easy to be solved even by someone who reads little of the genre, like me, I still enjoyed it a lot, especially because of the characters. 

The Mask Falling (The Bone Season, #4), by Samantha Shannon

Look, I can’t say The Mask Falling broke my heart in a good way – unless I’m talking about how painfully good it is. But I really think happiness fits this book, the lyrics and the vibe make me think a lot about Paige and Arcturus and their time in Paris, and as much as the ending crushed me to bits, it was so good I couldn’t even feel mad towards the author. It was a brilliant heartbreak. 

The Fill-In Boyfriend, by Kasie West

This book came to my mind the moment I read the prompt and thought about dorothea; it fits perfectly with both. It has a really sweet high school romance, and though I had never stopped to think about it since I read this book a long time ago, the song really reminds me of the couple, since the main girl is this high school queen and everyone sees her as perfect, but that’s not really who she is, and then she meets the main guy (sorry I can’t remember their names it really has been a long time) takes his time to know the real her. It’s really sweet, I might even re-read it this year. 

The Jasmine Throne (Burning Kingdoms, #1), by Tasha Suri 

I love fantasy, it’s my favorite genre. I’m always looking for new books, and this one really gripped my attention. It has a world inspired by the history and epics of India, and what seems to be a main sapphic romance that already has me by a chokehold, between an exiled princess and one of her maidservants (who also hides a dangerous secret). It will be released in June, and I have already got hold of the other series this author released, a duology called The Books of Ambha, that seems really interesting too. 

The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon

Honestly, I didn’t really know what to answer here, it seems to me that I haven’t read a book that really talked to me in a long time, though I have read lots of books I highly enjoyed. But then I thought about how attached I feel to Paige Mahoney and all her history, and the whole The Bone Season series seemed like the right answer here. It is written in the first person because we are supposed to see everything through Paige’s eyes, and I feel like her character really speaks to me, and reading about her gives me a big sense of understanding. 

*crying because I have no book to answer this prompt, and that’s my favorite song from the album*

Her Royal Highness (Royals, #2), by Rachel Hawkins 

I’m that person who really enjoys big books, the thicker the better! But sometimes it’s really refreshing to read smaller books, and Her Royal Highness is definitely one of those books you read to just relax and enjoy. And thinking about it now, I even believe that the lyrics to long story short fit with the main sapphic couple, Millie and Flora. 

The Cahill Witch Chronicles, by Jessica Spotswood

This is one of my favorite trilogies, and it always makes me sad how very few people know of it. It has a very strong family element since it’s focused on three sisters. The older sister, Cate, is the main character, and she swore on her mother’s deathbed to take care of her smaller sisters, and I really love the amount of love and devotion she has for her sisters. She would give up her own happiness to make her sisters happy, and I really love and admire her. 

Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell 

This book is so disgusting and racist, I hate it so much. It’s honestly awful, and it relives me that more people are talking about how bad it is and how awful the author is. I just wish her other books weren’t so famous and hyped. 

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

I know, I know, I’m so basic. Everybody loves Pride and Prejudice, and as much as I seem to always dislike or even hate hyped books, this one was obviously different. I really adored this story, and Elizabeth is truly an amazing character, no surprise everybody loves her, and her romance with Mr. Darcy was so well developed, I loved reading about them and also about Lizzy’s family and sisters, it was such a pleasant book. 

The Priory of The Orange Tree, by Samantha Shannon

*if you see me mentioning samantha shannon for the third time no you didn’t*

This book is so good and so big, I spent months in a reading slump after finishing it for the first time. It has very deep and amazing worldbuilding and lore and is so well written. The romance is amazing, the plot is amazing, I read it just last year but I can’t wait to read it again this year, I absolutely love it.   

These Violent Delights, by Chloe Gong

I don’t have a problem DNFing books, so I’m going to mention the last book I DNFed, which was These Violent Delights. I really tried to get engaged with the story and the characters, but it just wasn’t working for me. It’s not my kind of romance, and as much as liked the general vibe and the setting, it wasn’t enough to keep me reading. 


And that was the tag! Thank you for reading, and do talk to me in the comments: would you have answered any of these questions with the same book I did? Have you read any of the books I mentioned here? Feel free to interact and make the tag if you liked it! ❤

2 Comments

  1. Ahhhh so happy to see you doing the tag and loved reading your picks! I had never thought about Escaping from Houdini as being all glitzy (probably because it was also my least fave in the series), but you’re so right! Great job and THANK YOU!!!! 🤩🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was an amazing tag, I really liked the questions you created for each song! Thankss

      Like

Leave a Comment